Young people and events

Education & Parents



24th November 2010

The final of this year’s BT Alba Debate competition was held this evening at the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh between teams from Millburn Academy from Inverness and the Nicolson Institute from Stornoway.


The Inverness team consisting of Catriona Morrison and Ceitlin Smith and the Nicolson Institute consisting of Iain Murdo MacMillan and Christina Louise MacLeod treated the audience to an excellent debate with the Nicolson Institute finally emerging as this year’s champions. It was a closely fought debate and posed a difficult evening for this year’s judges.

Christina Louise MacLeod was presented with the Trophy for the Best Speaker of the Debate, by Dòmhnall Iain Mac Ille Dhuinn. The three judges; Rosemary Ward, Director of the Gaelic Books Council, Matthew MacIver, Honorary Professor of Gaelic at the University of the Highlands and Islands and Roddy John MacLeod, Deputy Chairman of the Scottish Land Court and Sherriff at Edinburgh Sherriff Court spoke enthusiastically about the standard of Debate.

Calum Iain MacLeod, Chair of the Debate Management Committee said –

“I am delighted at the high standard shown in tonight’s Final. It is an excellent showcase of the skills of our youngsters and is testament to the hard work taking place in our schools and homes. The BT Alba Debate continues to go from strength to strength and is a highlight on the Gaelic event calendar”.

The Management Committee would like to thank BT Scotland, the main sponsors, for their continued support of the Debate. Pictures on within this release courtesy of The Scottish Parliament.

Additional assistance for the BT Scotland Debate 2010 has come from Comunn na Gàidhligthe BBCComhairle nan Eilean SiarBòrd na GàidhligMG ALBA and the Management Review Group for Gaelic.


Comunn na Gàidhlig

5 Mitchell's Lane




01463 234138




Comunn na Gàidhlig

An Tosgan

54a Rathad Shìphort


Isle of Lewis



01851 701802

Login Form